Minutes of the Athy Municipal District Annual Meeting held on Monday, 20 July 2020 at 11:00 a.m. in Áras Chill Dara, Naas, Co. Kildare

Members Present: Councillor A Breslin (Cathaoirleach),

Councillors V Behan, B Dooley, I Keatley

and M Leigh.

Officials Present: Ms A Aspell (District Manager), Mr D O'Flaherty (District

Engineer), Ms P Berry (Marketing Officer), Mr B McGrath

(Meetings Administrator) and Ms N Smullen (Meetings Secretary)

AY01/0720

Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Breslin welcomed everyone to the annual meeting of the Athy Municipal District and conveyed her thanks to her fellow members, the District Manager and Kildare County Council staff for their support to her in the duration of her role of Cathaoirleach following the election of Councillor Wall to the Senate. She stated it had been a difficult few months and the Athy Municipal District Committee and officials of Kildare County Council worked well in partnership. She welcomed Councillor Leigh who had been co-opted to fill Councillor Wall's seat.

The Cathaoirleach invited nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.

It was proposed by Councillor Leigh and seconded by Councillor Keatley that Councillor Breslin be nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach. There were no other nominations. Councillor Breslin was deemed elected.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Leigh, seconded by Councillor Keatley and agreed by all members present that Councillor Breslin be deemed elected as Cathaoirleach for the Athy Municipal District Committee for the coming year.

Kildare County Council

On taking the position of Cathaoirleach, Councillor Breslin thanked the members for their nomination and support.

MY02/0720

Election of Leas Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Breslin invited nominations for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach. It was proposed by Councillor Leigh and seconded by Councillor Dooley that Councillor Keatley be nominated for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach. There were no other nominations. Councillor Keatley was deemed elected.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Leigh, seconded by Councillor Dooley and agreed by all members present that Councillor Keatley be deemed elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of the Athy Municipal District Committee for the coming year.

Councillor Keatley thanked the members for their nomination and support. He conveyed his appreciation to the members, Senior Management and staff of Kildare County Council during the Covid-19 restrictions who had ensured all communications were kept open at all times.

The District Manager congratulated Councillor Breslin and Councillor Keatley on their positions.

The meeting concluded.